Go to navigation Go to content
Universal City 210-375-3318
Pleasanton 830-569-FEET (3338)
Toll-Free: 855-972-9512
Next Step Foot & Ankle Clinic

Happy Feet: What Former Patients Have to Say About Next Step Foot & Ankle Clinic and Dr. Silvester

Nothing makes the Next Step Foot & Ankle team happier than a happy patient who has conquered his or her pain. Here, we share what some of our former patients have had to say about their experience with us, and how they are doing today.

We know that you may be overwhelmed and may even a little scared about seeking treatment for your pain. While we can tell you all about what we can do for you, we like to let our patients share their experience to help assure you that your are taking an important first step towards a pain-free life!

  • Page 7
  • Less than a week and I feel great after ingrown toenail surgery.

    My toe was hurting so bad I finally went in to get minor surgery. Less than a week and I feel great . Thank-you!!!!!!

    L.Z., San Antonio, TX
  • "Not Just Another Patient"

    Dr. Silvester and all his staff are very friendly and personable. What a relief to not be treated as "just another patient".

    H.W., Pleasanton, TX
  • New Patient loves her experience at Next Step Foot & Ankle Clinic

    I was so pleased with my experience at Dr. Silvester's office. My experience with another office is one that I would not recommend. This office is friendly - the office staff makes you feel welcome, the nursing staff is excellent and Dr. Silvester is not only a good doctor but a very personable man who welcomes you as a person not just a patient.

    B.H., La Vernia, Texas
  • New Patient impressed with Dr. Silvester's explanation of his foot problem.

    The staff were all super friendly and helpful. The doc did a great job and really helped me understand what the problem was. Definitely will be coming back and recommending to others!

    D.D., Corpus Christi, Texas
  • I can't thank Dr. Silvester and the friendly, smiling faces that fill his office enough. I can honestly say I believe I will have a better quality of life because of them all :)

    Amazing care!!! I have been suffering from diabetic neuropathy for a very long time and have tried every shoe under the sun. I even tried all kinds of insoles including spending (over $1,000 at The Good Foot Store) which did work for a couple of weeks, but were just a quick fix. I came to Dr Silvester a couple of months ago and he found the root of the problem right away within two visits and gave me hope that I could walk and do more without the pain with surgery. I signed up right away and his amazing staff was able to get me in the very next day to operate on my right leg and foot. Because of the severe pain I was in, this was music to my ears..Needless to say I saw him today and we are now scheduling to operate on my left leg and foot. I can't thank Dr.Silvester and the friendly, smiling faces that fill his office enough. I can honestly say I believe I will have a better quality of life because of them all :)

    V.R.
  • I'm better, because you're the best!

    I'm better, because you're the best! Thank you.

    CJ
  • I feel so much better, I could cry!

    After Laser Therapy, patient states, "I feel so much better, I could cry!".  She was able to walk barefooted with no pain, and was so happy, she gave our MA a big hug!

    Mary P.
  • Three week follow-up and is 95% better.

    Patient complained of heel pain for ten years. Patient used arch supports, injections, night splints with no relief. Cryosurgery was performed on April 19, 2007. Patient had 5 days of pain after surgery. Returns to clinic on May 10, 2007 for three week follow-up and is 95% better.

    from patient record, with permission of TT, Jourdanton, T
  • I feel much better now! I would recommend surgery to anyone with flat feet.

    Before I had my surgery, I couldn't run that much because my feet would hurt. I would get tired fast and I had pain after about 15 minutes. I couldn't do sports without my feet hurting. I tried arch supports and they didn't help. After I had surgery I couldn't do anything for a few months, but after it was all worth it. I feel much better now! I would recommend surgery to anyone with flat feet.

    P. Navarro, age 16
  • And now he competes in cross country running, soccer and football with no complaints of aches or pains.

    My son J. Brian Brown was born flat-footed. During the time he was learning to walk he had to hug the walls or he would fall over, it took him a longer time to walk then our daughter. Any time JB practiced sports he would complain about his ankles and feet hurting, they would ache for hours. Dr. Silvester performed flat foot surgery on both of his feet. And now he competes in cross country running, soccer and football with no complaints of aches or pains. This has made all the difference in the world to his self-esteem. We can't thank the Dr. enough.

    Danny Lee Brown, Pleasanton, TX
  • I have had about 85% improvement in my burning and tingling and numbness.

    I have had neuropathy in my lower extremity secondary to my diabetes for approximately three years. I tried multiple medications without significant lessening of my symptoms. My symptoms consisted mostly of burning shooting tingling pain. I also had significant loss of sensation in both feet. In July 2005 Dr. Silvester suggested that I might obtain some relief from my neuropathy by undergoing a surgery to decompress the nerves in my legs and feet. I had surgery performed on my left foot and leg in August of 2005. The results were so good that I went ahead with the right foot procedure in February of 2006. Since that time I have had about 85% improvement in my burning and tingling and numbness. I also have better balance and much more comfortable. I was very pleased with my results. 

    SD
  • I feel like I have a new lease on life. I feel like I can go dancing.

    I am a diabetic insulin and pill dependent. I have had neuropathy for thirteen and a half years. I have burning pain 24 hrs. 7 days a week non-stop. Which makes me feel really bad. I had the nerve surgery done and it worked for me. If you are a diabetic and have this burning sensation pain. I would recommend you to see Dr. Silvester and have the test done. And if you are candidate I would recommend you to have the surgery. It is wonderful not having any more burning pain. I feel like I have a new lease on life. I feel like I can go dancing. I would like to thank Dr. Silvester and his staff.

    DB
  • After the surgery my foot was much more sensitive.

    In early December 2005 I saw an article in the newspaper regarding a new procedure to treat neuropathy of the feet. Since I had experienced that syndrome for about 18 months I called a referenced phone number to investigate. That inquiry led me to Dr. Darren Silvester. My problem was brought on by diabetes which had been brought under control by diet alone. Dr. Silvester tested my feet for sensation sensitivity and determined that I would be a suitable candidate for this operative procedure. In mid December he performed the procedure on my right foot and lower leg with good success. Prior to the surgery I had minimal sensitivity in my foot. After the surgery my foot was much more sensitive. I intend to have the left foot and leg surgically corrected in late February. It has taken six weeks for me to be able to return to my routine exercise of walking three miles or riding my exercise bike six miles each day. I anticipate full recovery by April. I would be happy to answer any questions regarding my experience with this procedure.

    OA, JR - San Antonio, Texas
  • I felt tickles that I had not felt in over 10 years.

    I am 52-years old, and a diabetic. For years I had no feeling in my feet. I had a toe amputated. When Dr. Silvester told me about the new surgery he was doing, my first thought was, 'Yeah, right.' But on September 9, 2005 I had the procedure done on my right foot. After that I was amazed I could actually feel! I felt tickles that I had not felt in over 10 years. I decided I wanted to do the left foot, and Dr. Silvester performed the surgery on October 7, 2005. What Dr. Silvester has given me has left me speechless and very grateful. I recommend it to any and everybody that will listen to me.

    MB, Pleasanton
  • Having these procedures done has allowed my to reduce my intake of Neurontin from 6 pills per day down to 2 pills per day.

    The procedure Dr. Silvester performed on October 14, 2005, on my left foot relieved my pain by about 65% and convinced me to have the other foot done three weeks later. Having these procedures done has allowed my to reduce my intake of Neurontin from 6 pills per day down to 2 pills per day. My opinion of this procedure is that I would highly recommend it. My results were far better than I expected.

    CH, Pleasanton
  • I am very pleased with the work Dr. Silvester has done.

    ...it has healed fine and very quick. I am going to have the other foot done any day now. I am very pleased with the work Dr. Silvester has done.

    SD - Pleasanton
  • All the discomfort of burning and tingling I had before the surgery is all gone.

    I think the nerve decompression surgery is great. I have about 70% more feeling in my left foot than before the surgery. All the discomfort of burning and tingling I had before the surgery is all gone. I am very happy with the results. I would definitely recommend anyone suffering with neuropathy to have the surgery. I was so pleased with the results I am scheduled to have my right foot done in January 2006.

    JH - Pleasanton
  • I went into this with a lot of hope and two weeks later the results exceeded my wildest dreams.

    I am a 58-year old male who discovered he had diabetes. Over the last 3 to 4 years I have had problems with infections and ulcers, especially on my left foot. The loss of feeling, particularly in the left foot made it impossible for me to feel when something was wrong. In August, 2005 Dr. Darren J. Silvester talked to me about a procedure to improve the situation. Dr. Silvester has treated me for the last few years and I value his advice. He performed a test to see if the procedure would help and soon after he performed the surgery. I went into this with a lot of hope and two weeks later the results exceeded my wildest dreams. During the first examination he touched the bottom of my foot and it tickled! I haven't had that much feeling in a very long time.I would like to thank Dr. Silvester and his wonderful staff, I cannot say enough about their caring and concerned approach to my health and wellbeing. Dr. Silvester has my full approval to show or use this letter in any manner he thinks will help others, and I can be reached...if anyone wishes to contact me.

    BM - Floresville
  • After consecutive surgeries on my feet the pain has significantly been reduced.

    Six months ago I was suffering severe, sometimes extreme pain in both of my feet. After consecutive surgeries on my feet the pain has significantly been reduced. While I still have noticeable pain when I retire at night, I am at least able to go to sleep each night. I am looking forward to the expected continued improvement over the year to come. My wholehearted thanks.

    JK - San Antonio
  • Super good feeling and support of my tired old 79-year old feet.

    Regarding arch supports dispensed in-office: " Super good feeling and support of my tired old 79-year old feet. Great product.

    AB